Certificate IV in Celebrancy

How To Become a Celebrant

In order to become a certified and fully trained qualified celebrant, you’ll need to attend the proper training and demonstrate your knowledge in the legislation of marriage. The minimum qualification that you’ll need to obtain is a Certificate IV in Celebrancy (CHC41015). This can be obtained from many Registered Training Organisations around Australia.

Please note, you will need to be 18 years or older to become a registered celebrant in Australia

At the completion of your certification you will be tested on your marriages and the processes and procedures associated with it.

When you have completed your Certificate IV in Celebrancy (course code CHC41015), you can then apply to become a marriage celebrant through the Australian Attorney General’s Department, alongside passing a legal questionnaire and a “fit and proper person’s test” that will be administered by the staff of the Attorney-General’s Marriage Law and Celebrants’ Section. This information and preparation for these exams will be covered in your Cert IV in Celebrancy course.

What units are involved in a Cert IV in Celebrancy?

There are 13 total units included in a Cert IV as a Celebrant including 6 core and essential units, plus 7 electives of your choosing.

Core Units:

CHCCEL001 Develop sustainable celebrancy practice
CHCCEL002 Establish client celebrancy needs
CHCCEL003 Research, design and organise ceremonies
CHCCEL004 Prepare for, present and evaluate ceremonies
CHCDIV001 Work with diverse people
CHCLEG001 Work legally and ethically

Elective Units – Celebrancy:

CHCCEL005 Establish and maintain marriage celebrancy practice
CHCCEL006 Interview clients and plan marriage ceremonies
CHCCEL007 Prepare for, present and evaluate marriage ceremonies
CHCCEL008 Plan, present and evaluate funeral and memorial ceremonies
CHCCCS017 Provide loss and grief support
SIFXIND002 Work effectively in the funeral services industry
CHCCDE005 Develop and support relevant community resources

Other Elective Units:

CHCCOM002 Use communication to build relationships
CHCMHS001 Work with people with mental health issues
CHCPAS001 Plan for the provision of pastoral and spiritual care
CHCPAS002 Provide pastoral and spiritual care
CHCPRP003 Reflect on and improve own professional practice
BSBADM409 Coordinate business resources
BSBADM504 Plan and implement administrative systems
BSBCMM401 Make a presentation
BSBFIA301 Maintain financial records
BSBIPR401 Use and respect copyright
BSBITS401 Maintain business technology
BSBITU306 Design and produce business documents
BSBMKG413 Promote products and services
BSBRKG403 Set up a business or records system for a small business
BSBSMB405 Monitor and manage small business operations
BSBSMB406 Manage small business finances.
BSBSMB403 Market the small business
BSBSMB404 Undertake small business planning
CUFWRT301A Write content for a range of media
CUSMPF402A Develop and maintain stagecraft skills
CUSMPF302A Prepare for performance

Your electives must include at least 3 units from the Celebrancy group and up to 4 units from any other electives, any endorsed Training Package or any accredited course (of which must be relevant to your work outcomes as a celebrant).

How much does it cost to complete a Cert IV as a Celebrant?

The cost of a Certificate IV in Celebrancy will very for each course provider, however you can expect to pay between $1,000 and $2,000.

How long will it take to finish a Cert IV in Celebrancy?

Depending on the terms of your enrolment (which can vary from institution to institution), most students complete their cert IV in 9-12 months. Remember that every person has a unique learning style so duration will vary also depending on a person’s abilities, free time, other commitments and any previous experience that may be credited.

Many course providers offer online study as well as in person, so consider the best fit for your needs. If you elect to study online, you’ll usually be assigned a personal tutor that you will be in contact with via phone and email and you may be required to film yourself performing various assessment modules, so you’ll need access to resources that facilitate this mode of education.

What assessments are included?

All vocational education is based on competence, so there are no “exams” and students are worked with to ensure they are competent in all skills and knowledge required. You may also be required to perform assignments which can be written, observational, oral or practical.

For more information, click here to see RTOs in your area that you can complete a Certificate IV in Celebrancy with.


You may also like

Leave a Reply